HUD Homes

What are HUD Homes?
HUD (US Department of Housing and Urban Development) homes are 1-4 unit properties that have been foreclosed on by the bank where in most cases the former owner had an FHA (Federal Housing Administration) insured loan.  FHA loans are insured by the Government to protect the lender and will reimburse the lender if the borrower stops paying and goes into foreclosure.  HUD is the governmental department that administers the sale of these houses.

What is HUDs mission?
HUD’s mission is to create strong, sustainable, inclusive communities and quality affordable homes for all.  HUD is working to strengthen the housing market to bolster the economy and protect consumers; meet the need for quality affordable rental homes; utilize housing as a platform for improving quality of life; build inclusive and sustainable communities free from discrimination, and transform the way HUD does business.

How do you bid?
Only a licensed Realtor can submit a bid through the HUD HomeStore (HHS). The Realtors managing broker must have a Name Address Identifier also known as a NAID. Managing brokers may apply for a NAID by visiting  Once the managing broker is registered the buyers Realtor must register on HHS as a bidder to submit bids.  All detailed instructions are listed on HHS.  Listing broker may not submit on the behalf of another Realtors.  If a Realtor is not able to obtain a NAID a list of HUD approved Realtors can be found on

Homeowners Click Here

Realtors Click Here